Boating Regulations

Boating education

New Hampshire has a mandatory boating education law. Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate.

Alcohol and drugs

Operation of motor craft under the influence of alcohol or drugs is punishable by imprisonment and/or fine.

Passing speed and wake

At normal speed a motorboat must keep at least 150 feet from other boats, kayaks, sailboats, swimmers, docks, swim rafts, marked swimming areas and the shore itself. If any closer than this a boat must by law slow down to “headway speed”, which is the slowest speed to maintain steerage.

Ski craft and personal watercraft

It’s important to note the difference between “Ski Craft” and “Personal Water Craft”.  Operation of Ski Craft on Contoocook is prohibited by New Hampshire law.  A Ski Craft is defined as a vessel less than 13 feet, capable of 20 mph speed, and capable of carrying at most two people.  Only personal watercraft capable of carrying three or more people, are allowed on Contoocook.

Rules of the road

Motorboats must give right of way to canoes, kayaks, rowboats, sailboats, and other non-power boats. All navigational buoys should be observed and respected.

Racing

Except for planned events with permits from the NH Division of Safety, racing is a clear danger to others and is illegal.

Loading

An overloaded boat is dangerous. Limit passengers to a safe number. It is unsafe and illegal to sit on gunwales or bow of a motorboat. It is also dangerous to stand up in a moving boat.

Life-saving equipment

All boats, power or otherwise, must be equipped with Coast Guard approved flotation devices for each person aboard. By law, children age 12 or under must wear an approved life jacket.

Water skiing and towing

In addition to the driver of the boat, there must be one observer when towing fewer than three people. For three or more people being towed behind a motorboat, there must be two observers in addition to the operator. Observers must be a minimum of thirteen years of age and physically able to assist the people being towed. Two skiers are the maximum allowed to one boat. It is mandatory for skiers and rafters to wear an approved flotation device. Skiing and other towing is illegal at night (sunset to sunrise). The driver and the skier(s) are responsible for keeping the boat and skier(s) at least 150 feet from other boats, swimmers, buoys, etc.

Contoocook Lake guidelines

On Contoocook Lake, skiing in the narrow part of the lake must be kept to center in order to observe the 150 ft. shore rule. There is no skiing allowed inside the island.

The island is private property, and per owner, not to be used all day as a base for water activity. Usage should be limited for all to enjoy!!!

In the larger part of lake, all motor boating activity should proceed in a counter-clockwise direction to minimize chance of collision.

Further information

The Boater’s Guide of New Hampshire: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities is available online from NH Marine Patrol.

Reporting accidents

To report boating accidents dial 911.

To report boating safety violations call NH Marine Patrol 603-293-2037